Skip to main content

Mayor & Council

The Town of Wilson's Mills is located in Johnston County and was incorporated in 1996.  The Town operates under a Mayor-Council form of government with five (5) members who are elected for four-year staggered terms.  The qualified voters of the entire Town elect the Mayor.  Regular meetings of the Town Council are held on the 3rd Monday night of each month at 6:30 p.m.

fleta byrd

Fleta Byrd


jc triplett

JC Triplett

Mayor Pro-tem

Phone: 919-989-6227

Cell: 919-631-7447


Carolyn W. Dobbin


Cell: (919) 625-0116

Councilmember Carolyn Dobbin was elected in 2019 and is currently serving her first four-year term as Councilmember and the liaison for the Planning Department.  

Ms. Dobbin is the daughter of the late George & Nora Whitley of Wilson's Mills. She raised in Wilson's Mills and is a graduate of Smithfield Selma Senior High School. She then went on to complete 2 years at Johnston Community College.

Ms. Dobbin worked for the Office of State Personnel in Raleigh before retiring in 2014. 

Prior to being elected Town Councilmember, Ms. Dobbin also served on the Wilson's Mills Planning Board.

Ms. Dobbin hopes to use her time as a Councilmember to prioritize police safety, community appearance continued growth, activities and recreational opportunities for the people of Wilson's Mills. 


Randy Jernigan


Cell: 919-524-5783


David McGowan


Cell: 410-303-9326

David McGowan is a married father of two with five grandchildren. He holds a B.S. degree in Aviation with a minor in Management. Mr. McGowan's career highlights include having been a U.S. Army Captain and aviator flying combat in Vietnam from 1969-1970, a Baltimore City Police Detective and 14 years as the Public Address Announcer for the Baltimore Orioles Baseball Club at Camden Yards in Baltimore, Maryland. 

Mr. McGowan states that he is looking forward to serving as a Councilmember for Wilson's Mills and working with the citizens, staff and fellow Councilmembers for the next four years. 


Tim E. Brown